Baroque Classics

Holy Trinity Church, South Kensington, London
7:30 pm, Saturday, 10 October, 2009


This concert celebrated masterpieces of the Baroque from Italy and Germany. The term “Baroque” refers to an artistic style of the late 16th to the early 18th centuries. Many musical forms were born during this era, such as the concerto, the sinfonia, the sonata and the oratorio. Opera, too, was born out of the experimentation of the Camerata in Florence, who attempted to recreate the theatrical arts of the Ancient Greeks.

Pegasus were pleased to perform, alongside players from the Royal College of Music, the following pieces:

Claudio Monteverdi’s Beatus vir
Gregorio Allegri’s Miserere mei, Deus
Johann Sebastian Bach’s Jesu, meine Freude
George Frideric Handel’s Dixit Dominus

This concert was a fundraiser for Trinity Hospice – who provide care for people with advanced illnesses within their homes or at the hospice.

Conductor – Matthew Altham

Leader – Mark Messenger

Concert Programme


Venue details

Nearest tube: